Broken

I love having bible study with women where we open God’s Word and learn truths that can help us function in our everyday lives.   These truths help me not just to function, but they help me to thrive in my role as a wife, mother, employee, friend, ministry leader, etc.   I love to get real with others while God’s Word is open to share the truth that HE is revealing to us.

I’ve been a bible study leader for over 10 years now, mostly with women who have been in the church for a while and who are somewhat familiar with scripture, women like me, so it’s comfortable.

About 2 years ago, I was given the opportunity to co-lead a bible study with women who have been rescued from human trafficking.  Women not like me – women who’ve lived very different lives than I have, who have grown up with very different circumstances than I have and are broken.

Broken.  What does that word mean?  I have sat around the table having a meal and opening God’s word with women that the world has called “Broken”.  I have gotten to know about their lives; I’ve heard their dreams, hopes, likes and dislikes; I’ve seen their beauty and their talents.  I’ve also heard some about their stories and the scars they have as a result.   At times, I’ve left our meetings in tears trying to wrap my mind around how difficult their lives have been.  Sometimes I leave angry at the evil in this world.

But when I leave every meeting, I know I’ve been in the presence of God.  I know that God is bringing healing to these precious lives.  He is a redeemer who has a plan for their lives. He is bringing beauty from the ashes.

I have to say that when I’m with “broken” women are times that I’m most challenged in my faith.  These women know that they are in need of a Savior.  They know that they need God – they have tried it their way and failed.

This is where I find common ground with them.  I have been there – trying it my way and failing miserably, knowing that I need a Savior and realizing that I can’t do it on my own.  Although I’ve never experienced anything close to the trauma that they have, I can relate to them in their brokenness because I have been broken too.  Because of sin in my life, I need a Savior to fix the broken places in my life.  I need God to heal me from my pride, my selfishness, and my tongue that gets out of control and says things that aren’t pleasing to Him.

We may look different on the outside – but our insides are certainly the same – our hearts are made clean by a Savior that redeems us.  AMEN!  Our common ground is knowing that we can’t do it on our own and that we need HIM every hour of every day to help us in this life.

Our pasts may look different, but our futures are the same.  We will be in heaven together forever praising our King.

Who has God put in your path that may look different from you?  How can you reach out to them and show them love?

Let the Spirit of the Lord lead and guide you to do the work that He has put before you to do.

“I am the Lord your God, who teaches you what is best for you, who directs you in the way you should go.”  Isaiah 48:17

Angela Sutsakhan

Leave a comment